About Us

Board of Trustees

Our Board of Trustees is a diverse group of scholars, practitioners, and investment professionals who provide executive oversight for the corporation; appoint and evaluate the president and trustees; and set the parameters for grantmaking, finances, and the direction of the Foundation.
Margaret R. Burchinal, Ph.D., is a senior scientist at the FPG Child Development Institute at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill and an adjunct professor in the Department of Education at the University of California, Irvine. She serves on the editorial boards for Child Development and Early Childhood Research Quarterly. Dr. Burchinal earned her doctorate in quantitative psychology from the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill.

Prudence L. Carter, Ph.D., is a professor of education and (by courtesy) sociology at Stanford University, and Faculty Director of the John W. Gardner Center for Youth and Their Communities. Prior to joining Stanford, Dr. Carter was an associate professor of sociology at Harvard University. She earned a doctorate in sociology from Columbia University.

Scott Evans, M.B.A., was most recently executive vice president of Asset Management at TIAA-CREF, where he held various executive positions, including chief investment officer, since 1997. He currently serves as a member of the investment committee of Tufts University and as an external advisor to the ABP Pension Fund. He was also a member of the Board of Trustees of Barnard College and the Dean’s Advisory Council at Northwestern University’s Kellogg School of Management. In addition, Mr. Evans chaired the Finance Committee of the Rockefeller Family Fund. He earned his M.B.A. from Northwestern University. 

Adam Gamoran, Ph.D. (President) joined the William T. Grant Foundation as president in 2013. Previously, he was the John D. MacArthur Chair in Sociology and Educational Policy Studies at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. He received his doctorate in education from the University of Chicago.

Olivia Golden, Ph.D., is the executive director of CLASP. She previously served as an institute fellow at the Urban Institute, director of state operations for New York, and director of the Child and Family Services Agency of the District of Columbia. She earned her doctorate in public policy from the Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University.

Nancy Gonzales, Ph.D., is an ASU Foundation Professor of Psychology (Clinical) and co-director of the Principal Research Core at the Prevention Research Center of Arizona State University. Her research focuses on the influence of culture, neighborhood, and other contextual factors on adolescent mental health, and the development of culturally sensitive prevention and promotion strategies for high risk youth. Dr. Gonzales earned her Ph.D. in psychology from the University of Washington.

Henry E. Gooss (Chair) is senior adviser to Investor Growth Capital, Inc., the venture capital arm of Investor AB, a Swedish industrial holding company, where he also served as president from 2005 through 2008. Prior to joining Investor AB in 1998, he had been chief investment officer of Chase Manhattan Bank and its predecessors since 1986. He began his career at Brown Brothers Harriman & Co., and received his M.B.A. from New York University. 

Christine James-Brown (Vice Chair) became president and CEO of the Child Welfare League of America (CWLA) in April 2007. She previously served as president of United Way International since 2004, and before that she spent 10 years as president and CEO of United Way of Southeastern Pennsylvania.

Russell Pennoyer (Secretary, Treasurer) is president of Benedetto, Gartland & Company, Inc. He was formerly an executive of American Exploration Company and also served as an associate with Davis Polk & Wardwell. He received his J.D. from Columbia University School of Law.

Andrew C. Porter, Ph.D., is dean of the University of Pennsylvania’s Graduate School of Education, where he also serves on the faculty as the George and Diane Weiss Professor of Education. Dr. Porter has also taught at Michigan State, the University of Wisconsin-Madison, and Vanderbilt University. He received his Ph.D. from UW-Madison.

Kenneth Prewitt, Ph.D. is the Carnegie Professor of Public Affairs and special advisor to the president at Columbia University. He is also the director of Columbia’s Knowledge Project. He previously taught at the University of Chicago, Stanford University, Washington University, the University of Nairobi, Makerere University, and The New School. Dr. Prewitt has also served as the director of the United States Census Bureau and senior vice president of the Rockefeller Foundation. His is author of The Hard Count: The Political and Social Challenges of Census Mobilization (2006) and co-editor of the recent National Academy Report on “Using Science as Evidence in Public Policy,” which was completed with Foundation support. Dr. Prewitt earned his doctorate from Stanford University.

Judson Reis, M.B.A., is the president of Sire Management Corporation, which manages several multi-manager investment partnerships. He is an active supporter of several private primary and secondary schools, a trustee at the Skowhegan School of Painting and Sculpture, and a trustee at the Pomfret School. In addition, Mr. Reis was a visiting professor at the Darden School of Business at the University of Virginia from 1987 through 2008. Mr. Reis earned his M.B.A. at Harvard Business School.